Monday, November 30, 2020

Discovering The Five Love Languages.

Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry

( Love. Everyone wants it and many feel that they know what it is, but there is so much that goes into really loving another person. It’s something that we have to work at because as humans, we are naturally selfish beings. Of course, there are those who are more selfless than others, but even being a giving or understanding person doesn’t mean you know how to truly love.

There is a something called love language. In fact, according to experts, there are five of them that most people use to show and express their love. This can be simple things like taking out the trash or the obvious like buying flowers and gifts. You can show your love and expect love in different ways. The best thing to do for your relationships, and not just the romantic ones, is to learn the five love languages of the important people in your life.

So here is a glimpse at what they are and how to discover and express them in order to have healthy, strong relationships.

Words of Affirmation

Everyone needs encouragement and one of the beset ways to express love is through words of affirmation. This is a great way to show love emotionally. This can be done with words of appreciation or verbal compliments. They are simple, straightforward and will positively impact a person for the better.

Quality Time

For some people, spending quality time with their mate is how they feel the love between them and their significant other (SO). This can be as low key as watching a move in the comfort of your home or taking a cruise to an exotic place. It’s all about being around that person.

Acts of Service

When you are in a marriage, for instance, and the hustle and bustle of life get going with work, kids and more, acts of service go a long way in communicating love. Acts of service as a sign of love can be washing the dishes or fixing something around the house for men. For women, it can be ironing your SO clothes or taking out the trash. The key here is to understand what it means for and to the other person.

Receiving Gifts

Who doesn’t love gifts? This is a sure fire way to express your love to your SO or loved one. It represents effort and thought and people appreciate those things that go into getting a gift for them.

Physical Touch

We live in a world where physical touch doesn’t always mean love, but for those in committed relationships, it is definitely a sign of real affection. This is one of my love languages. It is how I like to receive and show my love. While I definitely have other languages, this is by far is the one I use the most.

The love languages naturally come to each of us differently. There is no “right” love language. The purpose of understanding them is to know how to best communicate your love to your SO and loved ones and them to you. Look them up, study them and watch how using them affects your life.

Staff Writer; Rasheda Abdullah

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!